2012 Reflections

1 Jan

ship_storm

As I read status updates of my friends on Facebook about the New Year and how God has blessed them the past year, I smile and also whisper a prayer of praise and thanks to God for seeing me through 2012. Unlike the kind of blessing which most people posted about, which could be categorized as either “tangible” or “positive”, mine was not exactly what I wished for or something that not many people eagerly pray about or would come to realize as a blessing.

I thought 2012 would be a good year for me as I received a very good news on the second week of January last year but it did not materialize. I was hurt. People may say that it’s no big deal but it was for me. And it took quite some time for me to get over and move on from it.

My faith was tested. I questioned God. Since then, the rest of the year has been a constant struggle between taking control of my life and surrendering to God’s lordship and will for my life, between indulging in comfort and pleasure and denying myself, between following my dreams and desires of success and following God, between finding security in material things and finding it in God and His Word, between saving my life and losing it.

I’m not saying I’ve won over these struggles as winning over them is a daily thing (“If anyone wishes to come after Me [Jesus], he must deny himself, and take up his cross daily and follow Me.”–Luke 9:23). Looking back the past year, it didn’t felt good to undergo the discipline that God put me through. And for a lot of time, I didn’t feel blessed then at all. But as 2012 ended and I reflect on God’s goodness and His Word, yes, with conviction, I say I am and have been blessed. Because the Bible says so…

“Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance. And let endurance have its perfect result, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing…Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial…”–James 1:2-4, 12.

“Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery ordeal among you, which comes upon you for your testing, as though some strange thing were happening to you; but to the degree that you share the suffering of Christ, keep on rejoicing, so that also at the revelation of His glory you may rejoice with exultation. If you are reviled for the name of Christ, you are blessed, because the Spirit of glory and of God rests on you…if anyone suffers as a Christian, he is not to be ashamed, but is to glorify God in this name.”–I Peter4:12-14, 16

“‘My son, do not regard lightly the discipline of the Lord, nor faint when you are reproved by Him; for those whom the Lord loved He disciplines, and He scourges every son whom He receives.’ It is for discipline that you endure; God deals with you as with sons; for what son is there whom his father does not discipline? But if you are without discipline, of which all have become partakers, then you are illegitimate children and not sons. Furthermore, we had earthly fathers to discipline us, and we respected them; shall we not much rather be subject to the Father of spirits, and live? For they disciplined us for a short time as seemed best to them, but He disciplines us for our good, so that we may share His holiness. All discipline for the moment seems not to be joyful, but sorrowful; yet to those who have been trained by it, afterwards it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness.”–Hebrews 12:5-11

“‘For Your sake we are being put to death all day long; we were considered as sheep to be slaughtered.’ But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us.”–Romans 8:36-37

“Blessed are those who have been persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are you when people insult you and persecute you, and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of Me. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward in heaven is great…”–Matthew 5:10-12

So, yes, I say 2012 was a blessed year. Praise and glory to God alone!

One Response to “2012 Reflections”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reflections by Tonetta Harris | Prayer Works Cafe - January 3, 2013

    […] 2012 Reflections (mrgeanga.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

